bemsee logo 200pxfacebook-32x32twitter-32x32feed-32x32

dfdsbanner gibson yambits logo webbs infinity

YPM Annual Trophies

The Yamaha Past Masters have a number of coverted trophies which are awarded on an annual basis. 

  The Danny Whalin Trophy - Awarded at the annual Bemsee Dinner & Dance to the the rider who is considered an ambassador to the class.
 dwchallengecup The Danny Whalin Challenge Cup - Raced for usualy at the last meeting of the season.


The Paul Hogan Memorial Trophy -  Raced for usualy at the last meeting of the season.


Paul Hogan was involved with racing many bikes at many levels for many years and was a huge fan of LC's He took over “rent-a-racer” from Taymar racing in 1995. This business venture saw the renting of race bikes to riders racing in the 250lc and tzr250s classes. This put a lot of riders on the grid and kept a lot of these bikes on the track. One of many who started their involvement in racing through 'rent a racer' was Andy Ibbott, the founder of the California Superbike School in the UK. In 1999 Paul himself won the TZR250 class and the very prestigous Mellano trophy which is annually presented to the Bemsee rider of the year. With 350lcs on the same grid it was shown that they were a good match and so the Yamaha Past masters race class was rolled out for the year 2000. Paul was tragically killed in a road accident in 2001 but he had seen the class prosper. For 2002 a trophy was commisioned by Paul`s dad Jim and a memorial race was held. The memorial race is now a big part of the YPM season and is awarded by Paul`s son Calvin, who himself is a world class racer and has raced in the YPM class. He was an immensley likeable guy who was a mine of help and information for all competitors, happily sharing advice and parts where needed. A spirit which is still very much part of the class.